KCAA Muriel Preschool

Muriel Preschool

A nationally accredited preschool
Muriel@kcaapreschools.org

(808) 593-0567
1045 Kawaiahao St. • Honolulu, HI 96814

Map and Directions

AT A GLANCE

  • Enrollment: 90
  • Center Director: Cora Gibo
  • Open year-round 7am - 5pm
  • Ages: 2 (in diapers) - 5 years
  • Extended care available (5pm - 5:30 pm)
  • Nationally accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

TODAY

Muriel Preschool moved to its present location on the ground floor of the Kamakee Vista Building on Kawaiahao Street in 1992. This new setting for the school was made possible through a unique collaboration among the Atherton Family Foundation, the city government, and a private developer. The Kakaako Improvement Association, an organization of businesses in the community, has named KCAA Muriel Preschool as the beneficiary of several benefit golf tournaments, which has assisted the school with repairs and beautification projects. Extra-curricular programs include a weekly Japanese language class, swimming lessons at the Central YMCA, and computer classes. All staff meet State licensing requirements.

YESTERDAY

KCAA opened its Kakaako school in 1898 on South Street. The name "Muriel" came later. The agency's founders remarked in 1899, "The kindergarten has been the opening wedge in the district where it has been placed." In one short year, the South Street School had a girls' club, boys' club, singing class, and mothers' clubs. In 1901 the South Street School moved to the basement of Kawaiahao Church and was called the Kawaiahao Kindergarten. Seven years later, the school moved again, this time to the Kakaako Mission, on the corner of South and Queen Streets, and was renamed the Kakaako School. The new school site was closer to the children's homes and resulted in a 20% increase in students in just four months. In 1911, a new building was given to KCAA by Miss Kate Atherton for the Kakaako Community. It was renamed Muriel School, in memory of Miss Atherton's niece, and is still called that today.